God, why are you silent?

We have all been there right? You are in a tough spot, you don’t know what to do or where to go and when to take the step. God, why are you not answering me? We cry, we beg, we doubt, and grow weary. You start reflecting, am I living a repentant life, am I reading my Bible enough, are my prayers superficial, what am I doing wrong? Let me tell you that once you hear the voice of God, it is tormenting not to hear from him. We assume he is mad at us or no longer hanging around but that simply isn’t true. What does the Bible tell us;

Deuteronomy 31:6 NIV

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

I know we have all heard that when God is silent he is testing us, are we up for the challenge of obedience. Is our Faith steadfast regardless of his silence? While this all is very true, I have found that God’s silence is more to purge us of our negative character. I will give you an example. I am the type of woman who likes to figure things out, solve problems, and do things on my terms, some may refer to this behavior as a “control freak”. So here I am, unable to do a darn thing about my situation. I have absolutely no control, although, the Lord knows I tried. A couple of months ago I said to the Lord, “Okay I get it, you don’t need my help. Forgive me for trying to do things my way and in my own strength”.  Sometimes God wants us to fight the battles with him leading us, but in this particular case, he wanted it all to himself.

Exodus 14:14 NASB

The Lord will fight for you while you keep silent.

So I backed off in the natural realm from the situation at hand, but in the supernatural realm I was still fighting for control. I would pray and ask God, “Lord show me something, tell me something, how is this going to work out”? I literally felt tormented not knowing how everything was going to end up. I needed and wanted control so bad that I was trying to manipulate God so I could know his plans. Ridiculous.

Then God awakened me! Why would God reveal his plans and timing to you if he is trying to rid you of control issues? Along with control issues, you need deliverance from fear also because that is the root cause. Oh, and also you have trust issues which is bringing you anxiety. Yup, I’m pretty jacked up! I can laugh now but I seriously was going crazy.

If I rest in the full assurance that God is fighting my battle then I don’t have to interrogate him in my prayer time. I can use that time in thanking him for my deliverance and worship him for who he is and also pray for others. I know God’s ultimate goal is to transform me from glory to glory and I am to be patient and plugged into him while he does the work. Don’t let anyone tell you that it is not a painful process because God exposes our weaknesses, flaws and above all, our heart. If he is silent, it does not mean you have done anything wrong. God wants to see how you will respond to his silence, your character may need some purging. Let him bring you out stronger, that way in the next battle you are cool, calm and collect.

2 Corinthians 3:18

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit.

 

 

 

 

Published by

Gracefully Broken

Florida. Christian. Skincare. Real Estate. Dog lover. Blessed ❤

Leave a comment